So around January this year, before the world decided to go from bad to worse, I started to write this “Socmed AU” kind of fic because (1) I was amused with the concept and (2) I kinda want to try it myself. I had tried making a socmed AU thing for matsus but the fact that they were all inside the house thus, their interactions in socmed is kinda limited made me reconsider.

So I looked at the danmei fandom. There were already a lot of socmed AUs in the PH side of the fandom after one popped out and even at that time the bjyx fandom had their share of PH socmed AUs. I’ve been thinking of doing one for a smaller sized fandom so as to give a chance to other danmei as well as “para maiba naman”.

So I turned to the fandom that I have been obsessing about next to TGCF… Guardian.

Now you have to understand at that point, I have like three or four Guardian friends? And the other people in the fandom that I follow don’t know I exist. So no one will care about this shit.

So one day while we were going home from eating unli samgyup, I saw a Wanted Tubero sign and the rest, as they say, was history.

I didn’t intend to go deeper in the Guardian fandom. With it being finished (the translation was almost done by then too). But when I started on this I didn’t expect for it to be a rollercoaster ride all the way down.

I was updating almost daily and when I was most stressed, this AU gave me something happy to look forward to everyday. I was talking to everyone who reacted to it and I gained more Filipino fandom friends. And then in the middle of doing this I reread the novel and that plunged me deeper.

Then I discovered that I actually love the villain of the story and even shipped him with the cat. I don’t even know why I agreed to this ship but apparently I like it. And apparently I can’t get enough of them. I even started to forget I was supposed to write for the main ship because of them. I’M SORRY BUT THE MAIN SHIP IS ALREADY SOLID. They’re happy and they deserve it. So yeah. Focus shifted to solve this other non-canon rare ship.

Anyway the fic is done now and I swear it was so hard to part with this fic. I had pre-sleeping dreams of Mianmian just telling me to let go and finish it with me saying that I don’t want to let them go.

So yeah, after I finish the fic… I, as a person who does not know the meaning of letting go, did only what I do well. Start another fic with the same flavor of characters.

But this blog post is not about that… so back to TuberoAU. This loosely outlined socmed au gave me a lot of new things to learn about this very different way of storytelling. I played around with pictures and the tone of voices. I went on scrolling deeper and deeper into the actor’s weibo accounts. I made a video without a laptop. Overall it was a fun few months of my life.

So yeah, here’s the link to that story

Leave a comment