Done watching As Flowers Fade and Fly Across the Sky (like last last week ago when my connection is still not shit?!)

Here is my livetweet thread thing for my own reference.

Anyway, I really couldn’t review it properly back then because I hated the ending. Now that I have come to terms with the ending I can now say that…

this is shit.

If you want a drama with good character development, an interesting premise, a riveting plot, a male lead you can just fall in love with, and braincells. This ain’t it bruh.

The main male protag (NOT Zhu Yilong) is an annoying goody asshole that did not get a character development at all.
Who he was when we first saw him was still the same dude after everything

–and when I say everything I meant losing his love, forced marriage, falling in love with “someone else”, getting poisoned, getting injured, etc etc.
Still the same goody asshole with nothing up there in the head.

But enough about Mantian because I feel like Imma wanna punch something again. The plot was okay I guess: face-swap with amnesia, some pining and one-sided love, shallow political drama, Mara Clara, and ancient Chinese Vicky Belo fixing everything.

There were enough drama and sick people — there’s at least one person dying in bed every 2-3 episodes– to get you through 66 (OHMYFUCKINGGOD I’M CRYING 66!!) episodes.

But what made me watch this and made me stay was Hua Wuxie. This guy got ALL THE BRAINCELLS in this show and I’m glad that my fave is not dumb, nor was he insensitive.
Hua Wuxie made everything so bearable to watch.
He was beautiful. He could fight. He’s quick-witted. He’s gentle and kind and pure and adorable and did I say he’s was beautiful. Like arguably one of the most beautiful versions of Zhu Yilong out there.

None of these ungrateful shits deserve him… only his grandma deserves him. Because Grandma pampers him and loves him, she’s okay in my book. Okay maybe the princess was okay too because sometimes she has braincells and their chemistry was cute.

So unlike the last drama, Royal Sister Returns, this was not as stressful and Hua Wuxie did not suffer as much. He kinda was dying at one ep but heh of course ancient Chinese Vicky Belo is there so everything will be okay.
He also gets to have a nice happy wedding in the end.

BUT WAIT THERE’S MORE. THERE’S A FUCKING WAR AND THEY ALL WANTED TO GO TO WAR SO MAYBE HE COULD DIE THERE! IDK.
SO HERE. WATCH THE PRINCESS CRY HER EYES OUT WHILE WE SHOW THEM MARCHING OFF TO WAR

THE END

….I hate it here.

Okay Next! 

One thought on “Drama Review: As Flowers Fade and Fly Across the Sky

  1. I thought the real princess should have suffered more, too scheming and a trouble maker going to force someone too like her and then get angry when things don’t go her way. But still ends up okay. Too many Chinese dramas don’t punish the villains in their dramas. Rewarding selfish and bad behavior even sometimes to point of saying it’s okay to even kill for what you want???

    Like

Leave a comment